PDA

View Full Version : I'm new, but old...

balt
06-01-2008, 10:09 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to most of this. I've installed and flown the PMDG 74F a number of times, and (being a former commercial pilot) am constantly amazed at the reality it enables me to experience. All I am missing is a cockpit mockup, some real nubbins, FMC's, a decent visual system and we're in business for keeping IFR skills up to date. And a cockpit door with locks to keep interruptors out, of course!

Now, funny things aside, does anyone have some helpful hints and tips on where I might get started building a full scale, as real as it gets, 74F cockpit?

What are all those comments about EPIC, PHIDGET, FSUIP etc.? And might it possibly be as simple as ordering parts and assembling or is a significant development effort required?

Cheers

- Balt

AchillesP
06-01-2008, 10:19 AM
Hi and welcome aboard,

In short words you will need, cockpit parts (panels), computers, projectmagenta program, switches, cards and visuals.

Hope not to miss somethink.

A small description how all together works.

Flight simulator give offsets throu FSIUPC to progectmagenta, and projectmagenta work with those offsets in order to give extra offsets that flight simulator is not capable (to expand the realism). Then you take those offsets and set up them with cards (PHIDGETS) in order to give and take commands to the flight simulator throu switches.

Hi all,

I'm new to most of this. I've installed and flown the PMDG 74F a number of times, and (being a former commercial pilot) am constantly amazed at the reality it enables me to experience. All I am missing is a cockpit mockup, some real nubbins, FMC's, a decent visual system and we're in business for keeping IFR skills up to date. And a cockpit door with locks to keep interruptors out, of course!

Now, funny things aside, does anyone have some helpful hints and tips on where I might get started building a full scale, as real as it gets, 74F cockpit?