PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Australia's Gold Coast

Steve Andrew
07-31-2008, 10:54 PM
Hi everyone

I have had an interest in flight sims ever since I ran Bruce Artwick's Sub Logic system on an Apple II - Anyone remember that ? :)

Now that I have semi-retired and have the time I've finally decided to try and put together my own simpit. I'm mainly a VFR flier and so will be looking at something fairly simple. I am very interested in a 2 or 3 DOF motion platform and have spent a lot of time lurking on Ian's and Roland's most informative websites.

My background is mainly in embedded systems design, both hardware and software, and I look forward to being able to contribute something in those areas.

Best regards

Steve Andrew

Michael Carter
07-31-2008, 11:16 PM
Welcome to the site. Hope you find a lot of good ideas here.

No two cockpits are built the same way. I guess that's part of the fun and learning.

ruprecht
08-01-2008, 05:08 AM
I'm mainly a VFR flier and so will be looking at something fairly simple

*chortle* that's how we all started mate! You'll look back on that and laugh in a few years :)

Welcome to the hobby. There are quite a few of us in SEQLD, we should organise a meet sometime.

Cheers

Matt Olieman
08-01-2008, 05:35 AM
Well.... Here we go again.... another "Aussie" I'm telling you we are being overtaken LOL.

GLAD TO HAVE YOU HERE STEVE!!!!!!! You'll find MyCockpit very useful with your building venture. Lot's of friendly folks, ready to help and give advise :) :) :)

Again Steve, "Welcome" :)

Matt Olieman

paulj
08-01-2008, 06:07 AM
Welcome Steve,
Good to see yet another Aussie here.
I'm down in Sydney and building a capt side only 737NG.
Lot's of really helpful people here.
cheers
Paul

AndyT
08-01-2008, 06:21 AM
I think there is so many Aussies because real flying costs your first born down under. Gotta get their fix somehow.

Matt Olieman
08-01-2008, 06:51 AM