PDA

View Full Version : Prosim 737 and generic Serial port driver



WJH308
06-21-2012, 11:30 PM
Hello all, been quite busy with Arduino's and Jim's Link2FS system which I am making my own MCP for the default aircraft.
I am extremely interested in using my Arduino using the generic serial driver of ProSim737 but I can not find ANY documentation on the protocols used.
I have absolutely no interest in using some one elses interface program and would like to do this entirely through my Arduino mega, but I simply need some documentation on the serial output and input. Can anyone shed some light?

metamarty
06-22-2012, 02:53 PM
The generic serial driver is not yet documented. It is very simple:

You configure a text string (or a number) per input and output.
For output, ProSim repeats this text string followed by the value of the output (or a '0' for off and a '1' for on). The output report ends with a ":" character.

For input, ProSim reads input reports that should also be ended with a ":" character. ProSim finds the input state that is configured with the text that is reads and sets that to on.

So if you configure the APU start input for text 'apustart' and the APU on state for text 'apuon'. You can control the switch like this:
Send "apustart:" to put the switch in the start state and send 'apuon:' to switch it back to the on state.

WJH308
06-22-2012, 03:14 PM
Wow, that is a dream come true! I assume 9600bps? 115200? 8n1?

metamarty
06-22-2012, 03:24 PM
Currently the COM driver is hardcoded at 115200, no parity, 0 stop bits

WJH308
06-22-2012, 03:59 PM
Bummer, can't seam to set the arduino to 0 stop bits...

metamarty
06-22-2012, 04:12 PM
You don't need to, it should work normally with arduino.

WJH308
06-23-2012, 03:24 PM
Thanks! Love the system, appears that I will not have any problems interfacing my MCP with the generic serial system!